RECIPE: Quinoa Pan-klets

How was everyones Christmas?… Mine was awesome! I had Christmas lunch and dinner at my house ALL day, which let me tell you, is sooooo exhausting especially when your entertaining from 10:30am-11:00pm….. but it was great to catch up with family who i haven’t seen in 12 months, hang around in my purple striped bed socks and not get car sick because Ive eaten everything my eyes look at.

Santa was incredibly generous this year. I got a 8 tray dehydrator , fitness equipment, vouchers, cash and I won a chocolate fondue set (anybody up for some choc-dipped strawberries?)  in a christmas game. I don’t wish for much as I usually buy the things I want during the year, but I am so grateful for all I received! In 360 more days, I’ll be enjoying my favourite time of year again. I can’t wait!

Now to all things breakfast.

I’ve been sick (and still sick) since Boxing day so I’ve been forced to reduce my exercise activities and really take the time to relax so I can recover faster. Its also given me the chance to develop some new recipes and get ahead on meal prepping. This week I made some lean spicy turkey and quinoa meatballs, which makes a nice addition to my avocado pesto zoodles, I re-visted and tweaked the recipe for a NEW gluten free and paleo “bread” I have on the way, and these beautiful Quinoa Pan-klets– a mix between pancakes and pikelets.

These pan-klets are a perfect breakfast and dessert option with maple syrup, organic honey or caramelised banana; are fluffy and soft, and high in protein, gluten free, paleo and are nutrient dense. They also make a great option for leftover quinoa, and can be prepared in a large batch to freeze and quickly defrost for breakfasts or snacks on the run.

Quinoa Pan-klets

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c8f/79929980/files/2014/12/img_4077.jpg

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup cooked quinoa
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon honey (or other sweetener)
  • 2 egg whites, 1 egg yolk

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and mix
  2. Line skillet or frying pan with butter or coconut oil and place on low – medium heat
  3. Using a tablespoon or measuring cup, scoop pankelet batter into pancake shapes. NOTE: make sure there is 2-3 cm  between each pancake to allow room to flip and ensure mixture dosent stick together.
  4. Cook for 1-2 minutes on each side or until golden.
  5. Serve with fresh fruit, caramelised banana, berries, maple syrup or topping of your choice.

Love pancakes? Check out my Blueberry and Strawberry Pancakes and follow me on Instagram and Facebook for more NEW recipes and inspiration posts!

Enjoy!

Have a happy new year!

 

Leave a Reply

