RECIPE: Blueberry + Strawberry Pancakes- gluten free, diary free, high protein

Yep- I did it! I ate pancakes TWICE in one day! First, as a post workout then as a dessert. How do I feel? so sickkkkkkkk

This is how it went down (in disjointed short sequence): I went out for dinner to Lazy Moes with family and friends and was asked if I wanted to try some banana pancakes with walnuts and maple syrup. “Uhhhhhh, I’m not sure. I just ate like 200g of grilled fish and salad…” “C’mon at least try it..” “Okay. Fine. But tomorrow I know I’m going to feel it..” so I dug in and ended up eating ¼ of the EXTREMELY LARGE pancake (+ icecream 🙈)… So to say, I felt it this morning.

Check it out:

IMG_3519.JPG

Yo, imagine eating that whole thing!.. Yikes!

Did I enjoy it? Hell yeah!.. Do I feel guilty? Hell no!.. Am I going to run it off? No… because I can’t run… But will I squat it off? Probably..

All in all it was a pretty good pancake and I enjoyed it, even though it’s not something I would usually eat… Well from a restaurant anyway. But here IS something I would eat:

Blueberry + Strawberry Pancakes

GLUTEN, DIARY FREE | HIGH PROTEIN | CLEAN.

IMG_3544-0.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs, whole
  • 1 banana
  • ¼ cup steel cut Gluten Free oats
  • 1 teaspoon arrowroot flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 4 strawberries, cut in half
  • 1 tablespoon smooth peanut butter (i used organic)
  • handful of blueberries

Method: 

  1. In a blender, blend oats, arrowroot flour and baking powder (dry ingredients)
  2. In a separate bowl whisk eggs and bananas (wet ingredients)
  3. Add dry ingredients and blueberries into the wet ingredients and stir until smooth consistency
  4. Let mixture sit for 2-3 minutes to thicken. While waiting, melt coconut oil in small frypan on LOW heat.
  5. Using a large spoon, scoop pancake mixture into pan and cook for 2 minutes each side.
  6. Serve on plate and enjoy with peanut butter and strawberries on top.

Note: If pancake mixture begins to bubble, flip over | For extra flavour add coconut or peanut butter into wet ingredients

Re-creating these? Make sure to tag @bodyofnature  and hashtag #bodyofnature on instagram; and/or tag Body of Nature Nutrition on Facebook so I can see your creations! 

K x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

